top of page
Writer's picturesilent majority

California woman who faked own kidnapping strikes plea deal with prosecutors, will admit the hoax



Sherri Papini 2016 faked her own kidnapped for a total of 22 days. According to a plea deal she signed Tuesday with prosecutors from the state of California, she will plead guilty to counts of lying to FBI agents and mail fraud and she will finally admit the kidnapping was a hoax.


Her attorney released the following statement: "I am deeply ashamed of myself for my behavior and so very sorry for the pain I’ve caused my family, my friends, all the good people who needlessly suffered because of my story and those who worked so hard to try to help me, ... I will work the rest of my life to make amends for what I have done."


Papini was arrested on March 3rd, accused of defrauding the California Victims Compensation board in the sum of $30,000. Her family was able to post the $150,000 bond set on her five days after. She was released under the condition she sought psychiatric care and allowed the government to confiscate her passport.


Sherri went 'missing' on November 2nd, 2016, and returned that thanksgiving day 22 days later. She had had a brandishing on her right shoulder, bindings over her body, and had sustained other minor injuries. She told police that two Hispanic women had abducted her, creating descriptions for sketch artists that were working on her case. It was later found out that she had been staying with her ex-boyfriend and had been harming herself in order to make the kidnapping seem real.


Papini faces up to five years in prison for lying to FBI agents and up to 20 years in prison for mail fraud. The plea agreement filed Tuesday said the "government will recommend that the defendant be sentenced to the low end of the applicable guideline range."


WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK SHE WILL SERVE? IS THIS A NEW TREND?


SOURCES:

California mother who allegedly faked her own kidnapping strikes plea deal, will admit it was a hoax

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page